The top 6 teams from each of the 4 Western States Hockey League divisions qualify for the playoffs with the No. 1 and No. 2 seeds receiving a first round bye. That will leave the first round to be 3 vs. 6 and 4 vs. 5 matchups in the divisional quarter finals.

From there the winners will move on and be reseeded with the No. 1 team playing the lowest remaining seed in their division and the No. 2 drawing the highest remaining seed. Winners of the divisional semi-finals will then meet in the divisional finals. The winners of the divisional finals will then move on to the conference finals (Mountain Division Champions vs. Midwest Division Champions and Northwest Division Champions vs. Western Division Champions). The winners of the conference finals move on the the Thorne Cup Finals.

The higher seeded team will host each series. All are best-0f-3 format except for the Thorne Cup Finals, which are best of 5, with the higher seed hosting 3 games and the lower seed hosting 2 games.